Life Mode: Comparison

#truth

NOTE:  This very well might be written in permanent ink on my body one day.

To be real with you, I catch myself playing the comparison game more than I would like.  And I realize in this life mode of comparison, I can seemingly drift into a constrained sense of self.  There is an ignorance that literally blocks my own personality, my art, my ultimate creativity, my joy.  I feel stress, judgement, fear, self doubt, a little rage and I get aggressive.  Who is that?

You ever go there?

In these moments, I literally feel that I press the pause button on one epic soundtrack when I start comparing myself to another person.  You know at a wedding or at the end of the most awesome nights and the music stops and the lights come on and we are like, “‘No, play one more, please.  I’m not done yet!’.  Well, that is exactly what happens when you compare.  Music stops, party over and your life is like, wait, ‘I am so not done yet, turn that beat back on!’.

I have to remind myself to channel Teddy Roosevelt and realize that I am the thief of my own joy.  I have to feel it, own it, make a choice and stop, stop, stop comparing.  Recognize where I am now and know that I will get to where I want to go, once I can hear the music again.

Your turn.  Release the pause button.  Recognize where you are and know that you will get to where you want to go.

Press play.

Rock your life.  Your way.  Your time.  Your Joy.

All you.

4 Comments

Filed under Possibility, Present

4 responses to “Life Mode: Comparison

  1. Comparison is the thief of joy unless it is used in a productive way. You can compare to judge, but you can also compare in order to improve. The choice is yours!

  2. dariads

    Jacki,
    This is the best blog post yet. So true!

  3. Jacki this is fantastic! I am amazed lately I run into posts and quotes right when they are needed in my life and are relevant to my own thoughts. I’d been playing with something along these lines, but not nearly as fully realized or beautiful as this. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. SHK

    I have been thinking a lot about this one since you posted it. It’s really helpful to me in terms of doing the best that _I_ can do, and not worrying about the other guy. Thanks for that.

Leave a Reply

