I Love Trees: The Oak

As a child, I grew up under a large Oak Tree in Texas.  The branches stretched far and wide to provide shade not only in my front yard, but out onto my neighborhood block, as well.  It was a strong foundation for a swing and the while annoying to see ‘rake leaves’ on chore list from the Mother force, it was quite a sight to see every Fall.

I remember my sidewalk being covered in these little acorns all the time that fell from the tree.  They were a bear to walk over barefoot and left stains on the concrete.  What I do not think I knew then that I realize now, is those same acorns holds the seeds to the magnificent Oak Tree.  This grand-daddy of a tree staring back at me with roots that crack a sidewalk, branches that reach clear across the street and up in the sky, and a trunk that takes 4 Christmas lights strands alone, came from one tiny acorn.

Beautiful.

As time seems to fly by,  I realize I am in such a rush to be one huge, large Oak Tree now, now, now!   And yet, I am reminded by good ol’ Ralph Waldo Emerson, “the creation of a thousand forests is in one acorn”.

How beautiful that the trees know possibility and patience like this.

Oh, how much we can learn from the trees….

#possibility

2 Comments

Filed under Love, Possibility

2 responses to “I Love Trees: The Oak

  1. Also, there’s an oak tree in Winnie the Pooh. I don’t know if it makes it more awesome for you, but I thought I would share the Winnie love! xx

Leave a Reply

