Like New Years in September: Accountability

Happiest Labor Day to all!

I spent the weekend unplugged, in a tent overlooking a fishing pond, stuffing my face with apple pie and sips of sweet wine in a little mountain town called Julian, CA.   #holidaycelebrate

Also, Happy September!  Can you believe it?  Me neither.

With September, here are some commitments/goals I wanted to share.  I feel that I do best when I utilize social media as a tool for self accountability.  Weird, perhaps.  However, when I tell the World I am going to do it, I really do it.  It is like I think someone might call me out if I don’t, so I giddy up!  Find a way that works for you, for real.   Here goes:

1)  Wheat belly and holiday life, Chris and I are committed to eating straight Paleo as of Tuesday, September 4 through October 3, 2012.  (weakness:  wine, chocolate and coffee creamer)

2)  I am committed to blogging adventuresforlife posts EVERY single day starting today (September 3) through October 3.  #iamawriter

3)  Inspired by Dad’s completion of his first finish line via 13.1 miles this past August, my whole family is training for the TurkeyTrot 10K in November (in Houston, TX) – run in your city and we could do a fun picture share!  September commit:  I am going to run with Boyfriend+Bear by the beach 2 times per week this month.

4) BIG September commit:  I send my logo to print business cards for my goal coaching business by Oct. 1, 2012!  #declared  (I am way deep in the certification process via igolu Leadership Certification)

5)  I would love to volunteer this month, be it an animal shelter, planting trees or reading books to children….  Please email me at yourlifeadventures(at)gmail(dot)com, if you are in the LA area and have a volunteer opp and you would love someone (me) to join!  Or, if you can creatively think of a volunteer activity via SKYPE or phone, I am all ears and all yours!

What are you up to this September?  Share and inspire us in the comment section below!

Need accountability support, shout it out!

15 Comments

Filed under Goals, Possibility

15 responses to “Like New Years in September: Accountability

  1. Chris Hynes

    I am committing to eating paleo for 30 days and working out everyday (crossfit, run, bike). Also, no tv or mindless distractions until 10/01/12…grad school deadlines!!

  2. Jess

    I just squealed for your #imawriter goal because you ARE a writer and I enjoy reading your writing! Can’t wait to see what awaits my laptop screen everyday!

    Enrolling in igolu certification is on my bucket list, thats really exciting that you are about to finish it up. You’ll have to send over your business cards I know a group that would love for you to come practice your awesome goaling skills one day.

    This September I am up to researching starting a tumblr, completing the #wtfsept challenge, and reading my behind off<–I think I am going to adopt your no tv commitment. Oh and competing in a half ironman at the end of the month! wooo #iloveseptember

    • Wow! Thanks for the blog love, Jess! Love your September life! lululemon Photo challenge (me, too), tumblr (share the link when created), running and reading! Definitely send over the book list when you finish #booknerds #sansTV

  3. Jacki! So I’ve tried to post a comment like 5 times now so hopefully this one goes through.
    Basically, this post is rad… I second Jess, and love reading your writing. It’s somehow always in line with what I need to hear.

    Here’s what I’m commited to for September (and possibly beyond!):
    I will post a demonstrational yoga video every Sunday encouraging home practitioners to form awesome alignment and learn new poses.

    Scares my pants off but I think that’s a good sign;)

    Also, I will be in LA in early october and would love to grab a class with you if you’re around!!

    Keep inspiring the world chick.
    Xxx

  4. Robyn

    Accountability Sept is on!!! I am also on the Paleo eating style from 9/4-10/3 (which is my birthday so some splurging will happen that day I’m sure). As for volunteering “Reading to Kids” is a great organization that does 1x/month reading sessions with kids (usually the 3rd Sat. morning of the month). Free Arts (for Abused Children) is another great one that you can commit as much or as little as you want but they usually have Sat. events at least 2-3 times per month. Enjoy achieving your goals this month!

  5. dariads

    Hi lady,

    Love your September idea. My goal for this month is to get back to yoga after taking a break and save money while doing it (i.e. join Yoga Online)
    Also, wanted to say how much I was inspired by Lululemon and their staff

    Take care 🙂

  6. Pingback: in september… « sweet sweat

  7. SHK

    Small goals, mostly already in progress. I am rocking my training for my own 13.1 finish line on October 13. Additionally, I am planning on going to an info session regarding yoga teacher training a little later this month. I guess my goals these days are more inward: take a few deep breaths before reacting, show my baby girl tons of affection, be patient with myself.

    Thanks, as always, for the inspiration. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Let’s ROCKtober! | Adventures for a Life You Love

Leave a Reply

