The Grand Compromise

I totally get the asset of a radical resume.  I read them daily.  I do.

And, I totally understand specific skill sets for specific roles.  Experience required on the Job description – noted.

And, I see the opportunities in life that will elevate the game on your resume.  That will look good to the reader and recruiter.  You know what I am talking about:  the college degree, the community service, the internship, the similar field of work experience.

My question is:  did you compromise your experience for paper?

Are you deep in your work for the life experience?

Is there gap in your resume, as you took an epic year off to travel the World and be a learner of life?

What about that detour; when you chose passion in a job over an internship to add a statement on paper?

What have you created that turns you on?

I want to meet you, life experiencers.

I want to hear from you, passion people.  (email:  yourlifeadventures(at)gmail(dot)com)

And, I want to learn from you and be inspired by you.

Because, you are the ones that are going to inspire me to be exactly where, who, how I need to be.

Just by being who you are.

I say, live your life.

Not the life that will look good on paper.

9 Comments

Filed under Adventures, Happiness, Possibility

9 responses to “The Grand Compromise

  1. Anna

    I guess what looks best on my “paper” is that I lived in five different countries, not of my choice but I did enjoy it all. I can not offer a decent internship and no work experience and still I believe that I have a lot of skills.
    But I do agree: live your life. I wish it was perfectly fine to travel around the world just because. Instead you will probably write: language studying in X, Y and Z. Or something even better than that.
    I wish CV`s where a little more fun. That`s just my a-little-off-topic $0.02 .

  2. Chris

    I’ve put off the paper stuff to be a Father to my two beautiful children and husband to my wife. All while trying to finish my education and serve our country. All of this does nothing though when you try to explain any of it to HR when trying to find a job. I know what I have to offer and I still have a lot to learn and enourmous amount that I want to learn and explore. You inspire people to be their best and to teach others and that is a life worth enjoying.

  3. I love this and completely agree I have a very nontraditional life story and this was my recent submission for a job application.

    I could not agree more than what you wrote!

  4. Reblogged this on twentysixby26 and commented:
    This hits my core. I love you Lululemon and always will. I will see this job along my road of adventures fore sure. I am awesome and this company is awesome. The people at Lululemon are quality people that was why I was one of them. Fellow blogger you have touch my heart in more ways then you will ever knwo. Thank you Namaste.

  5. Reblogged this on A rambler in his day and commented:
    An interesting read provided by lululemon’s facebook feed.

Leave a Reply

