Adventure: Rock n Roll Half Marathon

I ran the Los Angeles Rock n Roll Half Marathon October 30 and I wanted to share the amazing things that happened when my legs rocked that pavement:

1)  On this particular morning at this particular race, I was so in my body.  I could feel every muscle working together, I could truly feel my arms supporting my legs and legs in motion with the arms.  My breathe was a radical rhythm that kept exhaling and inhaling, “Keep Calm and Carry On”.   And I was running….

2) On this particular morning at this particular race, I ran alone.  I trucked that 13.1 miles with me, myself and I and it was magic.  Almost as if I was in a seated yoga meditation – yet running.  I was cheering myself on, I was responsible for making sure each mile was at or around that 9 minute marker.  I crossed that finish line.  And I got to be really proud of myself.  Beautiful.

3)  On this particular morning at this particular race right around mile 8, I needed a mental boost.  The GU that I chugged down in Pomegranate Berry flavor only took me so far physically.  And in this amazing moment, I started to hear all my friends cheering for me.  My boyfriend smiling and telling me “Keep runnin’ babe, almost there”…and then Alex would be jumping on the sideline, “You got this friend, keep going”, and there was my new manager, Steph yelling “So rad, Carrbags!”.  And then there were friends that came out of the woodwork to cheer me on (mentally still, yes), my old co-workers JC Mills yelling “go, Carr, go” and sarcastic Kevin in his hot pink hat yelling “is that how fast you can go?”…and my friend David O’Hagan doing this laugh thing he does and very baseball coach-like saying, “Keep it up, keep up the pace”.  It was so surreal – there were many more.  But their voices literally came into my mental space and carried me on!  Weird?  Or just awesome!

4)  On this particular morning at this particular race, I was a RUNNER. 

5)  On this particular morning at this particular race, a goal was acheived.  There is something about the acheivement of crossing a goal off the list.  It is almost like finishing a book – the last page turn is the best feeling, like crossing that finish line.

Go run!  Let your legs rock the pavement and feel your body, feel the love, your accomplishments, your friends, and who you are. 

Rock your goals + Rock your life!

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventures, Goals, Possibility

Leave a Reply

