Project Inspiration: My Sisters

As I dig deep and look into who I really am, I look into who I invest my time with and how they have moved me in what I have called Project Inspiration.

I recently filled out an application that asked, “If you could high five anyone right now (past or present), who would it be?”.  In that blank box I wrote:  “I would hold up both hands and double high five my little sisters, Melinda and Bailey Carr. ” 

Thus, I wanted to take this time to tell you how my little sisters, Melinda and Bailey have inspired me and been a part of my life evolution. Melinda, the-middle-child-didn’t-have-a-real-curfew-but-I-did-creative-loud-beautiful-best-friend-of a sister, and little Bailey-boo, an-amazing-human-experience-just-being-around-her-blue-eyes-genius-caring-talented-animal-loving-little sister.  They are an inspiration in my life every single day.

Dear Mel,

This time, I have been there since the beginning.  I was one of the first people to hold you, to love you unconditionally, to share our room, share a phone line, fight constantly with, and become beautiful best friends with.  We drove each other crazy…pardon, we drive each other crazy.  We know the others’ next move.  We respect and stand for one another.  We are sisters.

What I wanted to let you know is that who you are, has and continues to shape who I am every day.

Mel, I am so lucky to have you as my sister.  Some people do not get this experience that we have.  That person in their life where you are sitting on the couch so stuffed from dinner and you look at eachother wondering if you should go out and meet up with your friends and the immediate answer is “no freakin’ way”.  And that is  perfect.  Because the amazing thing about sisters, is it is all good in the home hood.  No judgement, no ego, just love.  I am inspired by our relationship, who we get to be for one another and how comfortable and easy it is every time.  Gratitude.

Don’t get me started on the inside jokes.  It is almost as if we have a secret language that people cannot understand.  The language of sisters, which for us includes Anchorman quotes, Saturday Night Live impressions and eye rolls and stink eyes that only we know the meaning to.  How incredible to share a secret language with someone.  Thank you for playing along and making me feel special every day.

You, my little sister, are one that truly embodies the power of choice.  Albeit it takes you a very, very long time to make a decision; when you do, it is usually the right one.  Your outfits are always so stylish, the choice to love Southern sweetheart and BBA contestant, Derek Debowski, I approve, and your choice in school to be engaged in something you enjoy can only be a reflection of future life enjoyed!  Mel, even though your decisions, schooling, showering, eating, shopping… takes a little bit longer, that is okay.  It only teaches the ones that love you so much to have patience and trust you.  I am inspired by you, continue to take your time and I will practice patience more.  I promise.

And last but not least, you are the most beautiful person in the World.  You shine, Mel.  Not only in appearance, but in who you chose to be in your life and mine. 

Dear Bailey Boo,

Again, I have been there since the beginning.  I was one of the first people to hold you, to love you unconditionally, to look in those big blue eyes and learn so much and feel so much.  I was 14 when you were born and thought I would show you the way, but what I wanted to let you know is that who you are, has and continues to shape who I am every day.

When I look back I remember a flash in time when I was leaving for college.  You were four years old and my youngest best friend in the World.  We did everything together and I remember walking out the front door that day missing you so much already in those first few steps.  What inspires me 11 years later is that I still feel that same way every time I leave home.  I love your guts Bailey Boo and I deeply  cherish every single second we get to spend together.

Bailey, you are one of my most profound teachers in life.  You are full of youthful wisdom that I feel so grateful that you choose to share with me.  You are caring, giving, and very logical.  You see the good things in life and don’t let the ugly get in your way.  I am inspired to always look for the good when I am around you.  Thank you for showing me.

I can imagine it being a big job to be the best friend and sister of a crazy 27 year old like myself.  At all of 13 years old, it is a lot to listen to me go on and on and you really handle it well.  You are an amazing listener and Bailey, never forget that it is one of the most incredible qualities to have in life.  Listening.  I am inspired by your sponge-like ability to absorb information, listen intently and love all people (and animals) with an open and beautiful heart.  When I grow up, I want to be just like you.

And last but not least, you also are one of the most beautiful people in the World.  You shine, Bailey Carr.  Not only in appearance, but in who you chose to be in your life and mine. 

To my sisters, thank you for loving me every day. I am truly inspired.  You are my family,  my favorite people in the World, my teachers, my push to be the best I can be, and you both are my very best friends.

As you continue to rock in this life, keep being who you are. And I promise that I will do the same.

Your Inspired Big Sister,

Jacki Carr

6 Comments

Filed under Gratitude

6 responses to “Project Inspiration: My Sisters

  1. mom

    Cannot stop crying AGAIN!

  2. Julie Harris

    Jackie Carr; I love you. Sweetest post. I have two sisters, and although I’m the youngest of the three, I feel the same in every way about mine. xoxo, Jules

  3. Amy

    Love this Jackie, they are both so lucky to have you as their sisters. This makes me miss both of my sisters!!! XOXO

  4. Edith(grams)

    Jacki, you are in inspiration, love you,Grams

  5. Edith(grams)

    Jacki, you definitely are an inspiration to all those who know you. My wish for you is – may you have enough happiness to make you sweet, enough trials to make you strong, enough sorrow to keep you human, enough hope to make you happy. Love you, Grams

Leave a Reply

