Adventure: Lessons Learned in a Drain

So, we were having some troubles with the shower drain.  If you have ever experienced this mess – it gets ugly and fast.   Soap scum, human hair, dare I say dog hair, sitting water…

Needless to say, it had probably been over 4-5 weeks and I was over it.  And yes, I could wait for the manager of my building to finally send someone over – or I could have not waited around about 3 weeks ago, standing in water every shower – neither here, nor there now.  Well, last night I decided to take care of business.  I put my hair back in a headband, broke out all the cleaning supplies in the house and would not take no for an answer from that shower drain.

You guys, I will leave out the details including multi-purpose cleaner, a cut on thumb from an untwisted wire hanger, elbow grease behind the scrubber, and a total of 37 minutes from start to finish kneeling over the tub’s edge…and just let you all know that I rocked that drain, got my hands dirty and fixed that clog!   When the water started to rush down the drain, I truly felt like Clark Griswold on Christmas Vacation when he finally gets the lights to work and the hallelujah song plays in the background.  Do note: I sang the song in my head as the water flowed.

Hallelujah!
 
Yes, it was quite the accomplishment, as I see this blog could read as a self-glorified high five.
 
But what I wanted to share, I thought back to the past month, my goals failed, stressed communication, holidays, Mercury in retrograde, parking tickets, etc…and realized that some times, life’s situations are a mere reflection of what is going on.  I went there and saw that life can feel like a clogged drain: no movement, obstacles,  hairy situations, waiting for others to fix a problem, all talk and no action…which only then can lead to disbelief, resentment, frustration, irritability, NON-enjoyable showers….you get the idea.  And in life and for this case, my clogged drain, you some times have to take it on yourself – explore any and all options, be willing to get your hands really dirty, know it may take longer than expected and realize the beauty of patience.   Lessons learned in a drain.
 
I’ll have you know, I am taking this drain clearing and running with it.  My life is open, clear and moving!  Go ahead, take a peek at your life drain.  #getinaction

#sparkle

 
Leave a comment

Filed under Adventures, Possibility

Leave a Reply

